Chapter 197: Thornhedge

Book Review.

I hope that you are having a wonderful Wednesday night. If you are doing any type of creative work, or reading, I hope that those activities are going well for you.

I finished reading Thornhedge the other night, which means that you are due a book review.

This story that is contained within the pages of Thornhedge is like a good old, classic, fairy tale.

In the beginning when I was reading this book, the only fairy tale that was coming to mind for me was Sleeping Beauty. The girl with the golden locks of hair, a sleep for a hundred years in a castle tower guarded by a hedge of thorns.

However, as I read this book, it was not so much take on Sleeping Beauty, but of another book that I read back in college for one of my writing classes, which I believed was called The Changling.

The tale of the Changling, without giving too much of this book away, is that faeries would play tricks and one of the tricks was for a faerie to take possession of a human child in part the child body would have in it the soul of the faerie and the faerie’s body would have within it the soul of a human child. The child would being in the human would not act as normal human child.

However, on top of the story of The Changling story being weaved through out, but you also have this beautiful faery tale from the first page to the last page. I loved this book and the gift that it gives as the story.

If you like reading fantasy, faery tales, or just want a book that you can escape into that is not very long, then this is the book for you. I highly recommend this book.

What Am I Reading Next?

My next read, I said would be a book centered on writing, and I gave it a lot of thought on the book that I would choose. The book that I have choosen to read next is Ursula K. Le Guin’s Steering the Craft: A 21st – Century Guide to Sailing the Sea of Story.

Ursula K. Le Guin, is most famous for writing the Saga of Earthsea novels, which I have am also a fan. When I saw this book shortly after she passed away, it was a book that I had to get.

Now, I have not read this book before, so I am exceited to read this book, which is less then 150 pages. So, this the next book that I am reading for the rest of this month and into the next month.

What’s Next on the Blog?

In an familiar fashion I am going to give you a glimpse of the next blog post. Last night was the finale of FX’s ShoGun, which means that the next post is going to be my review of the series.

Now, also to come in a few days, ie, next Tuesday, is the posts for the month in review of April and the month in preview for May.

I hope that you have a good night and we will talk again soon.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑