Chapter 190: How do we Reward Creative Selves?

Creative ways that we can reward ourselves.

I hope that you are having a wonderful and safe Saturday morning. If you are creating, reading, or enjoying the day, I hope that those activities are going well for you.

If you are in the state of Colorado, then you now that we are bracing for some strong winds today, so it’s one of those days to enjoy being inside the house.

Before I get into today’s post, I want to call attention to the fact that I paid off another one of my student loans. While this is one loan on the list that has been paid if it not the last one that I have to pay off, for my journey is far is from over.

Now that the housekeeping items have been taken, lets get into today’s topic, which is how as creatives do we reward ourselves.

Granted having the time for us create is a reward within itself, because we know that we are much happier in our lives when we get that opportunity to work on our crafts, and we are realy unhappy when we are not given that chance.

But when it comes to the idea of rewarding ourselves for creativing, this could be a little more tricky, because we are saying that should be rewarded for creating when we were already being rewarded with the time to create. However, when we talk about this reward we are not just talking merely having a snack or a treat like ice cream.

What I am talking about are the treats that are not what others might call rewards. Rewards such as going to the craft stores, or going to the art museums if that is something that interests you. Going to a park, or taking a drive to a remote setting and probably creating something there. Doing something creative that you would not normally do.

We’re creative people, which means that our creative rewards should be creative and out of the norm from those that do not find themselves creative. it should be something fun but also something that we as creatives enjoy doing.

Yes, I know that some will say going to a coffee shop and writing there, is sometimes a reward, but I’m talking beyond that level of a reward.

Some will say that it is hard for us as creatives to get to that level of reward; however, I would say that since we our creatives we do tend to think outside of the box.

There are a few different ideas that I have come up with from time to time on this subject, which include things like going to the park and loom knitting, taking a drive to a spot that I have not been to in a while with a notebook and write, this one gives you the chance to listen to the birds, the wind, people talking, and the alike. Taking a chair someone quiet and read for a few hours. Now, remember on these that include being outside, make sure to take some water with you.

Granted, lately, I’ve been thinking about upgrading my setup. While some may not find this as a reward, in someways I do. It’s what keeps the area where I create fresh and new. Let’s admit sometimes buying something new for our craft is also a reward, such as new brushes, new pens, new anything is a reward.

Sometimes also having a reward to look forward to, allows us the insight to create or work on our craft and that in itself can be rwarding if we know at a certain time we are going to get something.

I hope that this has given you some inspiration. I hope that you have a good day and we will talk soon.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑